Tom Basham

Warm Bodies

In This Just OUT on February 1, 2013 at 10:56 pm

I jwarm-bodies-poster-ew-brandedust saw “Warm Bodies”, and it gave me a warm feeling. The movie stars Nicholas Hoult from “About a Boy”, about a decade ago, and this movie is about a zombie named “R.”  I’m not talking about a metaphor, like your teenager acts like a zombie at breakfast.  This is the real, un-live, “Walking Dead” kind of zombie. But then R is the zombie with a heart of… well, that would give away the whole movie.  He does have a great record collection and a surprisingly sensitive and reflective inner monologue.

It all starts when zombie meets girl and does not eat girl, named Julie, played by Teresa Palmer.  She cut her teeth in movies like “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice” and was Number 6 in “I Am Number Four,” which was my favorite number in that movie. It seems R is quite taken with her, and takes her back to his home and tries to get her drunk. This part was tough for me.  Here this guy is a zombie, and he has a better car than me and does better with chicks than me and he can barely do more than grunt.

It’s a classic story about the guy from the other side of the wall that separates zombies from regular people. Even though Julie really likes R, she does not tell her dad about him.  I have been there R, like in fourth grade when all I could do was stutter, so I sat behind her in math and touched her hair.  Julie’s dad, played by John Malkovich (In The Line of Fire), is in charge of killing all the zombies, so maybe Julie’s heart is in the right place. In a normal zombie movie you would say this is not Shakespeare, but I can’t do that here. You might recognize the story as “Romeo & Juliet,” though it took a balcony scene with R at the bottom grunting to Julie up top for me to get it.

Turns out all you need is love, and a leap of faith gesture that makes John Cusack’s boom box seem desperate and dated – and I love that movie. And yeah, I loved this movie.  I loved that R had a zombie friend like Rob Corddry, (Hot Tub Time Machine) who liked his friend’s girl and did not eat her brains. So I recommend you see this movie with someone you love, or maybe that creepy guy who sat behind you in math class has a heart.  I give this movie 4 out 5 stars, and kudos to writer/director Jonathan Levine (50/50) for breathing life into a zombie movie that changed my life.

Leave a Reply

