Tom Basham

Dumb and Dumber To

In This Just OUT on November 15, 2014 at 2:39 pm

dumb_and_dumber-posterAs Obi-Wan once asked, “Who’s the more foolish, the fool or the fool who follows him?” After seeing “Dumb and Dumber To,” I think I understand.

Lloyd (Jim Carey from “The Incredible Burt Wonderstone“) has been catatonic in a psych ward for almost two decades. Every week, his friend Harry (Jeff Daniels from “Looper“) comes to see him. When Harry tells him he is dying and needs a kidney, Lloyd finally comes clean and admits he has been faking for 20 years.

Harry visits his parents’ house to get a kidney and finds out he is adopted and his biological parents are dead. They give him a box of his old mail, including a 22-year-old letter from an old girlfriend letting him know she is pregnant. Soon our two simpletons are off on a road trip to find the kidney, I mean the kid with the kidney that can save Harry’s life.

The first stop is the old girlfriend, Fraida Felcher (Kathleen Turner from “The Perfect Family“), who tells them she gave the baby up for adoption. At least she had an address for the child from a letter returned with the note “do not contact me again.” This does not stop the dynamic duo.

About this time, like 40 minutes in, I realized this was supposed to be a comedy. The juxtaposition of the moronic behavior of Harry and Lloyd against the rest of the plotting of soap opera cliché characters was supposed to have me rolling in the aisles. Instead, I was barely rolling my eyes at the staccato string of silly site gags and one-liners. Most of the time it was setup followed by the punch line, and then Harry and Lloyd would laugh as I listened to hear if anyone else in the theater thought it was funny. All I heard from the 1/3-full audience over the entire movie was a single “Ha.” I know I may be “too old for this,” but so are these leads.

I love a good zany comedy, but all the talent in this movie, both behind and in front of the camera, was wasted. We all know the bit, and we are okay with that, so please put some meringue on this pie before you smash it in my face for the hundredth time.

There was the standard, heartwarming Farrelly Brothers ending, and that was just enough for me to give this movie 1 star out of 5. I should have listened to Obi-Wan; the farce was not with them.

Leave a Reply

